COVID-19 Information

Updated March 30, 2020


The Department of State has issued a Global Level 4 Health Advisory advising U.S. citizens to avoid all international travel due to the global impact of COVID-19.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) issued a Level 3 COVID-19 Health Notice for Turkey warning travelers to avoid all nonessential travel to Turkey. Travelers returning to the United States from Turkey should stay home for 14 days after returning from travel, monitor their health, and practice social distancing.

On March 27, the government of Turkey announced a suspension of all international commercial passenger flights to and from Turkey. As of March 29, all passengers on domestic flights in Turkey are required to submit a travel permit obtained from the Travel Permit Council. Please consult the Turkish Airlines website for current requirements and available domestic routes. We are working closely with the Turkish authorities and Turkish Airlines to obtain more details, and will provide updates as they become available. In the meantime, we urge U.S. citizen travelers to contact their airlines for the latest information, on whether a flight can be purchased, or an existing ticketed flight will occur.

Local authorities may put in place additional COVID-19 restrictions with little or no advanced notice. According to the Turkish Ministry of Interior, over a dozen towns and villages have been placed under quarantine.

Country-Specific Information

Entry and Exit Requirements:

    • On March 27, The Government of Turkey announced suspension of all international passenger flights.
    • Turkish citizens/residents who were in the following countries in the past 14 days are allowed to enter Turkey, but are subject to a quarantine requirement: Algeria, Angola, Austria, Azerbaijan,
    • Bangladesh, Belgium, Cameroon, Canada, Chad, Colombia, Cote d’Ivoire, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Mainland China, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Niger, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and Uzbekistan.
    • Foreign citizens are not permitted to transit or enter Turkey if they were physically present in these countries, as well as Greece and Bulgaria, in the last 14 days.
    • Passenger crossings are not permitted at Turkish land borders with Bulgaria, Greece, Iran, and Iraq; nor at the Sarp border crossing with Georgia, nor at the Dilucu land border.
    • Passenger sea crossings between Greece and Turkey are also closed.
    • Turkish Ministry of Health officials screen travelers at airports and maritime ports, as well as some land crossings, using thermal cameras.
    • To date, travelers do not need any specific health documentation to enter/exit Turkey.

Quarantine Information:

    • If an individual presents with COVID-19 symptoms, Turkish Ministry of Health guidelines are to send that person to a designated hospital for testing and possible observation under quarantine for 14 days.
    • All museums and archaeological sites are closed.
    • All onsite classes at primary, middle and high schools and universities (public and private) are closed.
    • Also closed: theaters, cinemas, exhibition centers, concert halls, wedding halls, restaurants/cafes offering live music, casinos, pubs, taverns, coffee houses, cafes, cafeterias, hookah cafes, internet cafes, all kinds of indoor playgrounds (including inside shopping malls and restaurants), tea gardens, clubhouses, amusement parks, swimming pools, barber shops, hair salons, Turkish baths, saunas, hot springs, massage parlors, spas, and sports centers.
    • Restaurants are closed except for take-away or delivery service.
    • Inter-city travel is limited, and travelers may be required to obtain permission from governors’ offices for inter-city air, train, bus and/or private vehicle travel.

Local Resources:

Other links: